CTran settles will forgo fees awarded by judge

Category hwjhaktr

first_imgC-Tran has agreed to settle with 14 plaintiffs who unsuccessfully claimed the transit agency violated the Open Public Meetings Act when it rearranged its board of directors nearly three years ago.The legal settlement means the agency will forgo $15,000 in attorneys fees awarded to it by a Clark County Superior Court judge, who ruled in C-Tran’s favor.In a statement to The Columbian, C-Tran said the plaintiffs offered to settle after the case was heard late last month by the Court of Appeals.“In response, at its Feb. 14 meeting, the C-Tran Board of Directors approved a proposed settlement that requires the plaintiffs to drop their current lawsuit and appeal,” the statement read. “In exchange, C-Tran will forgo its right to collect on sanctions. C-Tran will not sign the settlement until all plaintiffs have first signed the agreement.”The plaintiffs in the case are John Ley, John Hallinen, Gerald Halle, Michael and Carole Kelley, Michael Conner, Lisa Ross, Deborah Ward, Pat Anderson, Brian Rohan, Robert Nichols, John Burke, Robert Larimer and Mark Heagy. The defendants are C-Tran, a mix of C-Tran’s current and former members of its board of directors, and C-Tran CEO Jeff Hamm.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *